Programme

Bedford Rambling Club 

Programme of walks and events.

Walking again from 2nd August with special COVID-19 precautions.

Walking for the pleasure and enjoyment of the countryside.

Our walks are normally circular & start at 10.00 am. Monday walk leader is Bev 01234 768974 unless stated otherwise. Monday walks are normally about 2 hours 4-5 miles. Sunday walks are a bit longer at 5-6 miles. 

Please contact the walk leader or our Programme Secretary Sue for further details (077889 54819 SueCs2253@gmail.com) 

We are always looking for new members & non members are welcome to join us.

Well behaved dogs, on a short lead are welcome, unless stated otherwise in the walk description.

Please revisit this page regularly to check for updates or revisions.

Key:- Sunday walks  Monday walks Other BRC events  External events 

Link to details of completed Walks

Link to Walk leaders guide.

Please read COVID-19 precautions.

August 2020

Sunday 2nd August—  Meet at 10am.  5 miles around Renhold, starting from Wentworth Drive and through the Howbury Hall Estate to Wilden. 2 stiles.  If coming from Church lane end turn left at the roundabout – Wentworth Drive/Dover Crescent and then sharp left again, park at the far end or in the road on the right, Dunster Gardens.  We will meet on the grass near the roundabout. Postcode: MK41 8QF  LEADER: Sue C.  Mob: 07788954819

 Monday 3rd August  – Meet at 10am.   Priory Country Park.   Meet at the main car park on the green in the centre. 3.5 miles.  LEADER: Jim  Mob: 07961862355

Sunday 9th August—  Meet at 10am.  Houghton Conquest – Rectory Lane.  A 5 mile walk approximately, climbing up ‘Hill Difficulty’ to ‘House Beautiful’ from John Bunyan’s Pilgrim’s Progress then along the ridge for some fine views if the weather is clear.  Down through Kings Wood where Henry VIIth used to hunt. We may see deer and badger tracks among the woodland flowers. Postcode: MK45 3LD LEADER: Sue G Mob: 07880531517 or land line 01234 822760

Monday 10th August  – Meet at 10am.  Ridgmont to Woburn Park.  Meet at the Rose & Crown Pub for a 5 mile walk including some hills.  The address is 89, High Street, Ridgmont.  Postcode: MK43 0TY . There is now just one narrow entrance (that was the exit) to the car park as the owner has erected a marquee across the entrance.  There will be no toilet facilities available.  Avoid approaching Ridgmont from School Lane as there is a notice that the road will be closed on the 10th from 8am – 6pm.   LEADER: Jim   Mob:07961862355

Sunday 16th August— Meet at 10am.  Start at Mowsbury Park car park, Kimbolton Road, this 6 mile walk takes us past the golf course up to Ravensden towards the water tower and back.  Postcode: MK41 8AH  LEADER: Linda  Mob: 07733343702

Monday 17th August – Meet at 10am.  4-5 miles from Stevington to Pictshill Estate. No dogs on this walk please due to animals.   Park at the Royal George car park or streets nearby.  Postcode MK43 7QP.  LEADER: Joyce

Sunday 23rd August— Meet at 10am.  Kimbolton – A 5-6 mile walk around this pleasant village to be able to view Kimbolton from many directions.  Meet at Castle Gardens (off Kimbolton/Chelveston Road)  Postcode: PE28 0JE   LEADER: Peter   Land line 01933 276810 or on the day Mob: 07799697661

Monday 24th August  – Meet at 10am at Moswbury Park Car Park (Kimbolton Road).  Mowsbury Park  to the Hillfort and back through North Brickhill Country Park.  Postcode: MK41 8AH  LEADER: Terry  Mob: 07455028882

Sunday 30th August—  Meet at 10am.  Eversholt –  A 6 mile walk.  Meet at Eversholt Village Hall  (SP981327)  Postcode: MK17 9DS  If coming from M1 J13 the postcode beings you to Eversholt, Tyrrells End.  Continue on, after 100 yards ignore the right turn, after 200 yards turn right at cream coloured Eversholt Hall sign and then right again through metal gates into the over flow car park.  LEADER: Sue W.  Mob: 07546588087

 Monday 31st  August – Bank Holiday Monday.  Meet at 10am.  Walk details TBC

September 2020

 

Sunday 6th September – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Monday 7th September – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Sunday 13th September – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Monday 14th September – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Sunday 20th September – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Monday 21st September – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Sunday 27th September – Meet at 10am  – Maulden woods to Maulden church. – The walk is 4.5 miles long and is a very attractive circular walk.  Hopefully the leaves will be in full autumn colour.  The paths are a little uneven in places and there are a number of small hills. No stiles, but numerous kissing gates.  Postcode: MK45 3UZ (TL073394) Maulden woods lay-by on the A6 known as Maulden Woods car park.  From Bedford, drive round Clophill roundabout on the A6, and head back north, look out for the P sign indicating the lay-by and turn left into this.LEADER: Sue & Derek. Mob: 07889223708

Monday 28th September – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

October 2020

Sunday 4th October – Meet at 10am   Walk details TBC

 

Monday 5th October – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Sunday 11th October – Meet at 10am  Almost circular walk from Elstow to Wilstead.  5– 6 miles partly following the John Bunyan trail.   Countryside and woods.  No stiles just kissing gates. Postcode MK42 9YN  LEADER: Sue C.  Tel: 07788954819

Monday 12th October – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Sunday 18th October – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Monday 19th October – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Sunday 25th October – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Monday 26th October – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

November 2020

Sunday 1st November – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Monday 2nd November – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Sunday 8th November – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC  LEADER: Sue W.

 

Monday 9th November – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Sunday 15th November – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Monday 16th November – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Sunday 22nd November – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Monday 23rd November – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Sunday 29th November – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Monday 30th November – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

December 2020

Sunday 6th December – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Monday 7th December – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Sunday 13th December 5 miles around Renhold, starting from Wentworth Drive and through the Howbury Hall Estate to Wilden. 2 stiles.  If coming from Church lane end turn left at the roundabout – Wentworth Drive/Dover Crescent and then sharp left again, park at the far end or in the road on the right, Dunster Gardens.  We will meet on the grass near the roundabout. Postcode: MK41 8QF  LEADER: Sue C.  Mob: 07788954819

Monday 14th December – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Sunday 20th December – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Monday 21st December – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Sunday 27th December – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC

 

Monday 28th December – Meet at 10am  Walk details TBC